HeroClix Online Forums

Go Back   HeroClix Online Forums > Main Category > Rules Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-23-2013, 03:49 AM
Jeterey Jeterey is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Salt Lake City
Posts: 92
Default

Just played a game and the game didn't register it right. I pulse waved his fig with a perplex'd up defense for the ko as it was the only one in the blast radius and would have taken full damage. The game didn't ignore the perplex'd defense, as pulse wave ignores all game elements, including modifiers. I miss by one, which should have it because again, the game counted the perplex'd up defense still. He then flurries/ko's my fig next turn, instead of being ko'd. I went from having a fig top dial and ko'ing one of his last figs (one also being on its last click), to losing a fig and him still being able to flurry/outwit. That figure was then to able to keep going and ko another one of my figures, instead of being ko'd like it should have been?

What do we do in situations like this?

Give this character a ranged combat action even if it is adjacent to an opposing character; the area of effect for this attack is half the character’s range. Draw lines of fire to all other characters within the area of effect, including at least one opposing character; these lines of fire ignore all game effects except for walls, blocking and elevated terrain. Game effects possessed or used by characters with a line of fire drawn to them are ignored until the action has been resolved. If a line of fire is drawn to more than 1 character, this character’s damage value becomes 1 and is locked. Each character hit is dealt damage.
__________________
2013 Gencon Golden Age World Champion.
2013 Dragon Con ROC Invitational 3rd Place
Season 3 HCO champ
Facebook.com/djjakewilliams
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-23-2013, 01:41 PM
dzebra dzebra is offline
HeroClix Online Team Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 58
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeterey View Post
Just played a game and the game didn't register it right. I pulse waved his fig with a perplex'd up defense for the ko as it was the only one in the blast radius and would have taken full damage. The game didn't ignore the perplex'd defense, as pulse wave ignores all game elements, including modifiers. I miss by one, which should have it because again, the game counted the perplex'd up defense still. He then flurries/ko's my fig next turn, instead of being ko'd. I went from having a fig top dial and ko'ing one of his last figs (one also being on its last click), to losing a fig and him still being able to flurry/outwit. That figure was then to able to keep going and ko another one of my figures, instead of being ko'd like it should have been?

What do we do in situations like this?

Give this character a ranged combat action even if it is adjacent to an opposing character; the area of effect for this attack is half the character’s range. Draw lines of fire to all other characters within the area of effect, including at least one opposing character; these lines of fire ignore all game effects except for walls, blocking and elevated terrain. Game effects possessed or used by characters with a line of fire drawn to them are ignored until the action has been resolved. If a line of fire is drawn to more than 1 character, this character’s damage value becomes 1 and is locked. Each character hit is dealt damage.

As you state, "game effects possessed or used by characters with a line of fire drawn to them are ignored until the action has been resolved." In the case of Perplex, in order for the effect of Perplex to be ignored, a line of fire must be drawn to the character using Perplex, as it is the power itself which is ignored, not the effect.

If the character that was targeted by Pulse Wave was not the character using Perplex, then the modification to its Defense value should have remained. Since Pulse Wave halves your range, it's easy for this to happen.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-23-2013, 01:56 PM
luckymusolino's Avatar
luckymusolino luckymusolino is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: North Port, FL
Posts: 516
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeterey View Post
Just played a game and the game didn't register it right. I pulse waved his fig with a perplex'd up defense for the ko as it was the only one in the blast radius and would have taken full damage. The game didn't ignore the perplex'd defense, as pulse wave ignores all game elements, including modifiers. I miss by one, which should have it because again, the game counted the perplex'd up defense still. He then flurries/ko's my fig next turn, instead of being ko'd. I went from having a fig top dial and ko'ing one of his last figs (one also being on its last click), to losing a fig and him still being able to flurry/outwit. That figure was then to able to keep going and ko another one of my figures, instead of being ko'd like it should have been?

What do we do in situations like this?
Reading the description, it reads that the target of the Pulse Wave is not the one who Perplexed up his own defense. It was another figure that was outside of the area of effect of the Pulse Wave.

In this situation, as dzebra explained, the modifier from Perplex would still be applied to the target's defense during the attack. The game handled the rules interactions correctly and this would not be a bug. The match is going to count as reported.

In the future, whenever you think a rule or power was not applied correctly, get a screencap of it. That way the GMs or myself can see the whole game state when something happened to see if there was a bug or not.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-23-2013, 02:34 PM
Yamah's Avatar
Yamah Yamah is offline
HeroClix Online Team Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 1,130
Default Pulse Wave Discussion

Copied from League reporting thread.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-23-2013, 02:53 PM
Gauldoth Gauldoth is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 27
Default

Just to clarify these last statements, since I was his opponent: Scarlet Witch perplexed Catwoman's defense that was standing in front of Green Lantern. So Catwoman was blocking LoF to Scarlet Witch.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-23-2013, 03:01 PM
Haymaker's Avatar
Haymaker Haymaker is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 603
Default

PW ignores figures for LoF, but the perplexER sounds like they were out of the "blast zone" which is why the perplex would still count.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.